Oddkin's Thoughts

girl nums carrot 

One of my favorite names for God is “the Eternal Num-Num.” There’s a lot that I love about God included in this term.

On one level, the meaning is pretty obvious: God is an eternal source of nourishment for us, a true “num-num” for the soul.

“Taste and see that the Lord is good,” the psalmist tells us; “happy are those who take refuge in Him” (Psalm 34:8).

Whether this is meant literally (as when we consume the body and blood of Jesus in the Eucharist) or more figuratively, there’s certainly a sense in which God “tastes” good, in which God can be described as “nummy.”

But there’s another reason that I call God the Eternal Num-Num.

“Num-num” is baby talk for food. So when I call God the Eternal Num-Num, I’m also saying that God is eternally childlike – that God is eternally filled with joy and…

View original post 343 more words

