The Church of Scotland sustains pastoral call of openly gay minister!

 

Edinburgh, Scotland

 

Rev. Lindsay Louise Biddle, Chaplain of Affirmation Scotland, author of the Biblical Self-Defense Course and former National MLP Board Member, shared with us this good news from The Church of Scotland:

 

“After 3 1/2 hours of debate, the General Assembly of The Church of Scotland meeting in Edinburgh on Saturday evening, May 23, 2009, voted 326 for and 267 against the Presbytery of Aberdeen’s action (taken in January 2009) to sustain the call (issued in November 2008) from Queen’s Cross Parish Church in Aberdeen, to the Rev. Scott Rennie, an openly-gay minister in The Church of Scotland who is in a committed relationship with his Christian partner, David, who is a religious education teacher.”

We thank God for an inclusive church, where all are welcome!

“Jesus loves me! this I know for the Bible tells me so. All to Jesus we belong, whatever our sexual orientation! Jesus loves me! this I know for the Bible tells me so. God created every one, said “very good,” and it was done!  Yes, Jesus loves me! Yes, Jesus loves me! Yes, Jesus loves me! he Bible tells me so.

 

By the proud Chaplain of Affirmation Scotland The Rev. Ms. Lindsay Louise Biddle,

30 Ralston Avenue Glasgow G52 3NA 0141-883-7405.

 

We give thanks to God for this extraordinary faithful and just decision made on May 23 by The Church of Scotland and pray for its witness to inspire the Presbyterian Church (USA) and all other communities of faith within the Christian Communion.

 

with gratitude and hope,

Michael

 

Michael J. Adee, M.Div., Ph.D., Executive Director & Field Organizer

More Light Presbyterians, 369 Montezuma Avenue # 447, Santa Fe, New Mexico 87501 USA (505) 820-7082, michaeladee@aol.com, www.mlp.org

Ecumenics support www.mlp.org since 2007

